Burrito Bowls | Meal Prep


Happy Sunday aka Meal Prep Day! I absolutely loved my Mediterranean Bowls last week (recipe here) but I want to push myself to switch up my meals every week. So this week is macro-friendly Burrito Bowls! Here’s what you’re going to need:

Ingredients

  • Brown rice (I’m using a medley)
  • Black beans
  • Ground beef (I’m using Trader Joe’s extra lean)
  • Salsa
  • Guacamole
  • Shredded cheese
  • Tomatoes 
  • Cucumber
  • Onion
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • Southwest chipotle seasoning 

Steps

  1. Measure out rice to water ratio and bring pot to boil
  2. Coat a nonstick pan in cooking spray
  3. Season ground beef and cook in pan on medium/low heat
  4. Dice tomatoes and cucumber
  5. Check if rice has begun to boil, reduce heat and simmer for 10 mins (double check the back of the box for specific instructions)
  6. Dice onion and sauté in nonstick pan with extra virgin olive oil until browned
  7. Make sure you’re paying attention to all of your pots & pans and are stirring occasionally 
  8. Prepare your tupperwares
  9. Evenly distribute tomatoes and cucumber to tupperware
  10. Once rice has cooked fully, add can of black beans to the pot and keep warm on low
  11. Add rice and bean mixture to tupperwares by desired amount (I did a 1/2 cup)
  12. Once beef has cooked fully, evenly distribute among tupperwares
  13. Add sautéed onions to tupperwares
  14. Top with salsa, guacamole and shredded cheese!
  15. Put in the fridge and enjoy throughout the week!
  16. Reheat for lunches

The Breakdown

Here are the calories and macros for my meal prep! Your nutritional information will be slightly different dependent on what brands you use and serving sizes. I highly recommend getting these ingredients at Trader Joe’s. Not only do they have great prices but they have a variety of interesting ingredients that are usually much healthier!

Per lunch
Calories: 608 calories
Protein: 36 grams
Fat: 16 grams
Carbs: 76 grams

I love this meal! It’s like the healthy version of Chipotle and I am so down! I will be switching up my lunch prep every week so lookout for next Sunday’s blog! Deuces ❤

Leave a Reply

