How To Be Fit & Healthy With A Desk Job


Happy Tuesday fam ✨ today I’m going to discuss how I manage to stay on track with my fitness & health journey while working a full-time desk job. Just because you’re stuck in an office all day doesn’t mean you can’t take care of yourself outside of the office. So here are my tips and tricks:

Prepare and Plan

If you fail to plan, you’re planning to fail. That’s the truth about fitness & health, to me, especially when you’re stuck at a desk for a majority of the day. Plan your workouts ahead of time as well as your meals. If you know where you’re going, you’ll stick to that path more times than not.

Pack Your Lunch

I cannot tell you how many times I’ve succumb to Jimmy Johns’ giant sub sandwichs when I don’t pack a lunch. 😂  Don’t get me wrong, those sandwiches are BOMB, but they’re also not the best health wise. If you pack your own lunch you’re going to stick to that to eat for lunch. If you feel inclined to join the office in eating those free bagels, you’ll remember the delicious and time-consuming lunch you prepped and the money that already went into that. Also, the excuse – I packed my lunch – is always good to fend off FOMO.

Don’t Be Afraid To Say No

I have been given so much shit for not eating junk at work. Every time we have French Toast Friday there’s a comment about me not joining in. At first it really sucked (no one likes to be the odd man out). But soon I learned that 1) it’s really none of their business what I choose to eat 2) I would rather make myself happy than appease others. Also, think about why that coworker may be giving you shit about your delicious packed lunch. Are they embarrassed they eat junk 24-7 and are trying to shame you to make themselves feel better? The key here is do what you want to do and don’t be afraid to stick up for yourself. Something as simple as “I’m on a fitness program” should be enough to shut them up for a bit 🙃

Snacks On Standby

Y’all, let’s be real. Snacks are what keeps me going throughout the workday. And what happens when I don’t keep healthy snacks in my desk drawer? I end up doing things like “Whole Foods runs for munchies” and end up getting lost in the bulk bin aisle and coming back to the office with chocolate covered almonds and something amazingly delicious and not something that works with my goals. Again, this relates back to preparing! Know what snacks are going to work with your meal plan or nutritional goals and keep them stocked at work.

When All Is Lost – Coffee & Water

Currently, I’m tracking macros. So that means I can’t reach for an extra desk drawer snack when I’m dying mentally and physically. So here’s my trick when circumstances are dire – drink coffee. I add a bit of unsweetened almond milk to my coffee so it gives me a few calories to curb my hunger until my next meal and gives my stomach something. Also, hydrate! We’ve all heard that we can mistake thirst for hunger so make sure you’re keeping up with your water intake throughout the day. 

Get Up And Move

Even if it’s just walking to the bathroom or to get a drink of water down the hall. These little bursts of movement with not only wake your brain up but get your body moving and blood pumping. 

I hope those tips help! I remember first starting my desk job was a rough transition but find what routine or tricks work for you! TTYL fam ❤ 

Leave a Reply

