What It Takes To Actually Lose Weight


Losing Weight Once And For All…

Hey #fitfam I’m back! Since last time we spoke I’ve had my weight-loss epiphany (so to speak). I’ve gotten to a lower weight than I’ve been at in 3 years and I am so thrilled about it. Even though the scale shouldn’t rule your fitness journey it’s good for me to break through that mental barrier and realize that I can achieve what I want fitness and health wise 🙂 So here’s how I finally started to drop the weight!

1. Set goals and tell other people

I know I wouldn’t have been as successful thus far if I hadn’t told my boyfriend where I was at weight-wise and where I wanted to be. You always hear people say “Don’t do it for other people, do it for you!” but I need that external accountability. I push myself harder when I know I could be letting someone down or look like a failure to someone else.

2. Actually and continually get out of your comfort zone

This was one of the biggies for me. I am not a fan of cardio. But you can’t solely lift weights and expect to shed fat like I want to. So I realized I needed to kick my butt into gear and make cardio a regular part of my weekly gym routine. Did I like doing it all the time? Hell no, lol. But did I always thank myself for doing it when I stepped on the scale every week? 10000% percent.

3. Consistency is key

If there’s any true secret to weight loss it’s this: consistency will get you to your goals. One week of perfect eating and busting your ass in the gym isn’t going to get you anywhere serious if you alternate that with weeks of slacking off. You need to consistently be diligent with your fitness and health day-to-day, week-to-week, month-to-month to see changes and feel changes. That’s the part I feel most struggle with. We all want to look better after we’ve been working hard on our goals for a week or two. But it doesn’t work like that. Weight loss, muscle-building, or whatever your goal is takes times. It’s a marathon not a sprint and the sooner you realize that the better off you’ll be.

4. Don’t deprive yourself

Personally, this is another big one for me. In high school I burned myself out by dieting and labeling foods as bad or off-limits or guilt-ridden. This is a big no-no. There should be no foods that are off-limits because once you start to label your fitness and health journey as a diet or deprivation you start to 1) feel shitty about the whole process 2) feel you deserve a reward for being so strict (which leads to binging) or 3) give up all together because it’s making you unhappy or crazy. Take it from me — I have lost 6 pounds so far and I eat Halo Top (fitness-y/healthy/but still amazing) ice cream more than I care to admit :’) It’s all about calories in vs calories out. If you watch what you eat and balance out the treats with nutrient-dense healthy foods you’ll be fine! (Disclaimer: If you’re trying to look ripped 24-7 and/or are prepping for a show probably shouldn’t take this advice lol.)

I hope these tips helped and you feel better about losing weight for good no matter your reason for doing it. You can and you will do it. Just follow these tips and remember to enjoy the journey. It’s not about depriving yourself or suffering to get your dream body. Sometimes you can kill a workout, refuel with In-N-Out fries, fit them in your calorie goal for the day and wake up lighter…it’s called balance 🙂 Please reach out on here or on my fitness Instagram if you have any questions or need guidance or just someone to talk things out with. Also, I’ll be getting back on my fitness YouTube channel at the beginning of the year with new videos every week – so subscribe now!

img_1484

One thought on “What It Takes To Actually Lose Weight

Leave a Reply

