Why You Should Throw Away The Scale


So we’ve all heard it – ditch the scale. But a lot of the times we (myself included) still get stuck on the ominous number that won’t seem to budge in the direction we want. I’m here to tell you – enough is enough. We need to stop using the scale to measure how successful our fitness & health journeys are and also stop using it to gauge how healthy we are. Yes, in certain cases weight can showcase health, but for those of us that are considered a “normal” weight (which can be interpreted many ways), the scale can hold us back.

Let’s take it back to me as a high schooler – 5’6″, around 135 lbs. I was obsessed about my weight. I desperately wanted to weigh 128 (why I still remember that number, I don’t know). I did cardio everyday and lifted weights with my mom occasionally. I tracked everything I ate to the point where I was consumed by it. It wasn’t healthy.

Let’s bring the focus to now – 5’6″, around 148 lbs. I’m 10-ish pounds heavier. I count calories occasionally (for my plans) and eat balanced. There is no more guilt associated with food. I lift heavy weights about 3 times a week, take adequate rest days and do cardio maybe 1-2 times a week. I’m healthy and I’m happy as hell.

Now the comparison…

Processed with Rookie Cam

Personally, I think my heavier, current picture is 10000000x better. Not just because that waist is poppin’ ❤ but because I feel so much stronger, healthier and happier. I hope this motivates some of you to look beyond the scale, to realize your health and happiness is so much more than that number.

Let’s break it down to the nitty-gritty details now. Some of you may be thinking, Angie – how do you look better heavier? Well – muscle weighs more than fat. This means that you can weigh more but have a lower body fat percentage. Two examples:

1)

  • 5’6″, 135 lbs, 30% body fat
  • 5’6″, 148 lbs, 26% body fat

So me at 135 lbs could have had around 95 lbs of lean muscle (making the rest of my body 30% fat). Now, me at 148 lbs could have around 110 lbs of lean muscle (making the rest of my body 26% fat.)

2)

  • person A, 5’6″, 140 lbs, 25% body fat
  • person B, 5’6″, 140 lbs, 35% body fat

Now, person A is leaner, despite weighing the same as person B. This can be explained by muscle weighing more than fat. Person A would have 105 lbs of lean muscle, 35 lbs of fat. Whereas, person B would have 91 lbs of lean muscle and 49 lbs of fat. Same weight, but these two people would look very different.

So – ditch the scale! Stressing over your weight isn’t going to guarantee you the results you want. Be happy, be healthy, and love your body!

2 thoughts on “Why You Should Throw Away The Scale

Leave a Reply

