Cutting vs Bulking


Hey guys! I’m 6 days into my #4weekminicut and feeling good! I wanted to break down what a cut actually is and talk a little about bulking as well! Here we go…

First off, I am not a nutritionist. All I have learned about fitness & health is through my experiences and countless hours of research online and in books. Take what I have to say as a good basis for your knowledge but not absolute! So, here’s what you need to know about cutting and bulking:


Cut 101

What is it?

  • a time period where you’re at a caloric deficit (meaning calories out > calories in)

Why do it?

  • to lose fat / lean out

How to do it?

  • determine your TDEE (total daily energy expenditure) and use that to find out your baseline calories/day to meet your fat loss goal
  • online TDEE/fat loss calculators I suggest – (IIFYM, Get Fit & Thick’s macro calculator & TDEE Calculator)

Tips and tricks?

  • set an achievable goal (2 lb loss a week is considered the industry standard)
  • make a plan (how much cardio? how much weigh training? calorie cycling? carb cycling?)
  • track your progress (I suggest pictures and measurements for the basis of your tracking)

Bulk 101

What is it?

  • a time period where you’re at a caloric surplus (calories out < calories in)

Why do it?

  • to gain weight / build muscle

How to do it?

  • determine your TDEE (total daily energy expenditure) and use that to find out your baseline calories for a daily caloric surplus
  • online TDEE/bulking calculators I suggest – (IIFYM, Get Fit & Thick’s macro calculator & TDEE Calculator)

In terms of eating…

  • dirty bulk – eating all the godies you want. Some people say it’s all weight gain, so why not eat what you want…
  • clean bulk – maintaining a healthy, clean, balanced diet as you gain weight. So this is still eating more but eating the “good” things

Both of those methods are going to result in weight gain because if calories in > calories out – weight gain is inevitable. I’m no expert in this so I don’t know the specific implications with a clean vs dirty bulk and fat gain vs muscle gain with each of those.

Tips and tricks?

  • set an achievable goal (a lot of these calculators have “moderate” “aggressive” etc options)
  • make a plan (how many heavy weight training days? high carb? high fat?)
  • track your progress (I suggest body composition testing to see the fat vs muscle breakdown of your weight gain)

Well there you go! I hope that breaks it down enough for all of you! I’m closing in on Week 1 of my #4weekminicut and can’t wait to share my experience with y’all!

One thought on “Cutting vs Bulking

Leave a Reply

