Transformation Tuesday


Good morning everyone! Let me start off by saying this post is to educate other women from my personal experiences. I have been through a lot of phases on my fitness journey and I would love to help other women avoid the same mistakes I made…

Let’s start off with a picture…

Processed with Rookie Cam

So here we go – regardless of if you prefer the first photo, let me explain. Left pictures is Junior year of high school. I had no self-esteem, hated the way my body looked, worked out 7 days a week, had a bad relationship with food, did countless hours of cardio with some weight training where I was “going through the motions”, restricted everything I ate and averaged 1,400 cals/day. So obviously I never leaned out or looked how I wanted because my body was in a constant deficit. Even though my weight was “under control” and I would lose weight, I wasn’t happy with myself or with the progress. I was obsessed – obsessed with hitting my calorie goal for the day, obsessed with burning any excess calories when I ate even a little over budget and was obsessed with the number on the scale.

Fast forward to now. I weigh 18 pounds more. That’s a lot and old me would probably have a panic attack. But let’s dig passed the irrelevant number on the scale. The picture of the right is mid-March 2016, my Senior year of college. Sidenote: I gained weight my Sophomore year due to not being in a good place. Since then I’ve gotten back to a good place and feel healthy and strong…But here’s where I’ve arrived – I love myself. I know I’m not perfect and I don’t quite look how I want yet, but I’m okay with that. I can squat 135 lbs, deadlift 100 lbs for 4 sets of 8 and bust out some bosu ball squat burpees without falling on my face or throwing up (video coming soon of this crazy move). I focus on living with balance. I don’t count calories anymore, I try not to focus on weight loss, I eat healthy because it makes me feel good, and I lift heavy and incorporate a lot of HIIT into my workouts to challenge myself. I have never been happier in my life.

Remember, when you look at someone’s transformation picture: don’t judge it solely off of the progress, because the best progress isn’t physical.

So now you’re thinking, Angie that’s great! But how do I follow in your footsteps? Well loves, here you go:

  1. Screw the scale. If you don’t take my word for it, Google it. Countless blogs, fitness professionals, etc have tons of information and proof that the scale is usually some bullshit (unless you are severely overweight…I’m talking about the difference between 10-20 pounds of muscle vs fat). Take progress pictures instead! It will help unmask the bullshit of wanting to weigh a specific number.
  2. Don’t drive yourself crazy just to look a certain way. Trust me, it’s not worth it. I would miss birthday parties because I didn’t want to be around junk food, made up excuses for pool parties because I didn’t want to be seen in a bikini and a bunch of other bullshit I put myself through that was super unnecessary and 110% not worth it.
  3. Work out because of how it makes your body feel. I wasted so much time in the gym trying to burn a ridiculous number of calories. Now, I’ve found my passion for fitness and workout because it makes me feel like a bad ass. When you’re curling as much as some guys – you start to feel like SuperWoman.
  4. Actively work on loving yourself. I know this sounds corny. But it is soooo important. Once you start appreciating your body and your mind for what it can achieve – life gets so much better. This is probably the hardest thing to do and it takes a lot of soul searching and blocking out your inner hater.

I really hope this helps some of you! I plan on writing a post about muscle vs fat and how body fat percentage is so much better than weight to assess your fitness. Have a fabulous Tuesday and keep working babes! ❤

IMG_1491

Leave a Reply

