Bringing Sexy Back In September


So it’s go-time. My birthday is in 8 days and Labor Day Weekend is this weekend. It’s time to get my booty in gear and refocus on being healthy, happy and ooze the confidence of Nicki Minaj. So today is the last day of August but I’m not waiting to start this new phase until tomorrow – no sir, no way. I’m hitting this thing head on and starting a day before September 1st!

Step 1 of my plan of attack – restart BBG. I have never finished this 12 week program and it’s about damn time I did. I’m teaching Zumba today and doing a lift sesh so I will be doing Mondays workouts on Tuesdays, Wednesdays on Thursdays, etc etc.

Step 2 – getting back to mindful eating! No more – oh I can have this bagel because I’m at work or leaving work and I am too tired to go to the grocery store. I am going to get back to as clean eating as I can and will be focusing on the 80/20 rule…which is eating super clean 80% of the time and then 20% of the time is “healthy”. For example for breakfast (I’m between apartments and staying with friends this whole week btw) I had a 4 shot Venti nonfat latte at Starbucks and one of their reduced fat turkey bacon egg white whole grain english muffin sandwiches (mouthful isn’t it?) which I don’t consider clean eating but I consider it moderately healthy. I will be trying to eat less carbs (cutting out bad carbs 100%) and less fruit so I reduce my sugar intake. (Obvi cutting out processed sugary things too 😉 )

Step 3 – lift heavy, often. It’s no surprise that weight lifting sculpts gorgeous bodies. If you don’t believe me go to your favorite fitness models page and tell me they don’t lift multiple times a week. So in addition to teaching Zumba twice a week and doing BBG I will be adding on at least 3 heavy lifting sessions a week. This will probably be 1 leg, 1 upper body and 1 full body sesh (maybe 2 legs days 😉 ) . I’m also going to focus more on upping my weights and building strength.

So that’s the plan. If you’re been reading this for long you know I 100% believe in things in 3’s. So three steps to achieve my potential! Now here are my goals specifically for September…

Goal 1 – drop 5 lbs. I’m going to weigh tomorrow morning and then not again until October 1st. That means I need to lose about 1.2 lbs per week. If I stay consistent and work hard this is 100% doable.

Goal 2 – squat and deadlift 110 lbs. Both of my max for these are 100 lbs so again, 10 more lbs is very doable for 4 weeks.

Goal 3 – 20 pushups without stopping. Right now my most is a long-fought struggle to 15 reps. I want to stay consistent with good form for these 20 and push myself to build strength in my arms and chest!

So there it all is. My plan and my goals right there out in the open to hold me accountable. I am 100%, no, 110% determined to slay these goals…because if you didn’t know...it’s Virgo season…now you know.

3 thoughts on “Bringing Sexy Back In September

    1. angiepett says:

      BBG is Bikini Body Guide – a fitness program by Kayla Itsines. It’s a 12 week program featuring resistance training workouts. It also has you do LISS 1-4 times a week (depending on what week you’re on). LISS is Low Intensity Steady State cardio so things such as power walking on the treadmill or a low intensity workouts on the elliptical. Her workouts are based on circuit training – so you perform 4 exercises back to back without rest, then rest for 30-60 seconds and repeat the circuit. When you’re finished with two rounds of that circuit, you move onto the second circuit with new exercises. Hope that is enough detail! You can click here for more info!

      Like

Leave a Reply

